Mood Boards and Concepts

When creativity is at a minimum, we turn to other sources.

I’ve been in a bit of a slump lately. I started this blog to give myself some accountability in my writing, so I could work and focus on projects like I need to. Unfortunately my depression an usual avalanche of ideas makes it difficult to focus at times, and lately I’ve been struggling. I’ve been trying to come up with something I would update regularly here. Not something on a schedule, or anything concrete, but a story I could add a few thousand words to, slap it up here, and consider myself a content creator. Of course, since I have so many ideas, it was hard to choose one, and to help my creative juices flow I ended up making a few mood boards.

 

Ghost Girls Moodboard

Ghost Girls

Ghost Girls was a concept I came up with while over at my Fear Street blog. There were several aspects to my fake pitch for a Fear Street TV series I liked, mainly a Scully/Mulder dynamic between a girl who’d experienced things and another girl who’d been Scooby-Doo’d. I bumped them up to college age, and added a few more aspects: a conspiracy, no concrete proof that the supernatural is real, a haunted house. I don’t know if I’ll ever come back to these kids, but I had fun making a spooky board for them.

 

Dracula Drive

Dracula Drive

A story I’d started working on back in high school was that of a high school that suddenly had an influx of monsters and creatures out of a horror movie, and a girl reporter went around collecting everyone’s stories. A little while later I revisited, gave it a more concrete plot, a time travel element, and focused on each generation’s fear of the future. The story came a little to close to Men and Monsters purely because of its monster mash element, and I ended up dropping it for a long time. When I came back to it, I worried the frivolity of it had gone out, and I reconsidered Dracula Drive as a monster hop. Now everyone’s a vampire, a werewolf, a catwoman, a mummy, and they all do normal 1950s teen stuff. I worry, of course, about its resemblance to another popular franchise about monsters going to high school, and honestly I have such a soft spot for the original concept that I’m not quite ready to change it, but I’m a little proud of this board.

 

Adventurers Academy

Adventurers Academy

This story came strangely easily to me. I’ve wanted to do an adventurers style story for a long time and have come up with at least three different crews and eventually rejected them all. The idea of an adventuring school was a fun one, Harry Potter-esque while stealing more from D&D than other fantasy stories. I wanted it to be kind of fantasy punk as well, with the students dressed in a median between modern fashion and renaissance faire, and allowing them to talk like humans instead of Ye Olde Speech. The concept is fun, colorful, and I found a good team to work with, so I dashed this together to give myself some inspiration.

Author: Jimmy

Librarian/writer/geek

1 thought on “Mood Boards and Concepts”

Leave a Reply

