NaNoWriMo 2016 (Introduction)

I do NaNoWriMo every year, even though I think I’ve only completed it once. The past few years I’ve been using it to motivate myself to finish stories I already started. It hasn’t worked entirely, and this year I’ve given myself numerous projects to work on, so dedicating myself to a thousand words a day seems extra difficult. But I’m willing to try, even if it means giving up on it halfway in.

The story I want to do this year I did start drafting out a while ago. I am a fan of werewolves. I’m a fan of all monsters, especially vampires, but I feel werewolves often get the short end of the stick when it comes to horror and fantasy fiction. I’ve put werewolves in other stories, but I think it’s rare to see werewolves by themselves unless they’re, 1) a single beast for a large number of people to fight, or b) a large number of beasts for our heroes to fight. They certainly don’t get the same treatment as vampires, who are often given societies and culture, as well as complicated rule sets. I didn’t go completely in this direction, since I still wanted to try something new, and as someone from the south, it seemed easy to adapt them to a location I was familiar with. I had also just finished Men and Monsters, a Victorian style historical mystery, and I wanted to do something that was kind of the opposite of that.

So all of November I (hopefully) will be updating How Like Wolves, a southern werewolf story about family, relationships, blood magic, growing old, disappointment, and being comfortable with yourself. I think I’ll save up what I write and publish it all at the end of the week. We’ll see how long I can keep it up.

Author: Jimmy

Librarian/writer/geek

Leave a Reply

