Moodboards and Concepts Part II

I’m taking a bit of a break to catch up with my other projects like Deadlands and my Fear Street blog. I had so much fun doing the moodboards when I was in my creative slump that I sort of haven’t stopped doing them. I come up with a new story idea every other week and definitely have some ideas I’ve concepted out and then shelved. Here are the further adventures of what goes on in my brain.

teen-witch

Witch Hazel

There are many, many versions of “normal boy, weird girl” out there, and I had a much, much darker one I’d played with, but what I’ve really wanted to write for a long time is a cute, upbeat story about a witch. So a teenage boy who’s working retail and is focused on affording college and getting a date, who has a witch crash land in his backyard. She’s stuck in the human world, trying to get back home, while a crooked witch makes a play for power.

the-magic-shop

The Magic Shop Around the Corner

I can’t quite remember my impetus for creating this. I have a few different kinds of urban fantasy stories with varying levels on the fantasy, and like I said, I wanted to do something with witches. The Black Cat and Cauldron is a small magic shop in the city of Cochran, which has recently gone through a magic revival. It would be a tiny dot in a big map, except for its location. The owner and her seven employees must deal with local gangs, shady businessmen, and a supernatural being known as the Shadowman, all while also trying to run a business.

champions

Champions

The idea of the Greek gods choosing human champions to fight for them was one I had a long time back, though that version had a lot of elements that didn’t piece together quite right. I like Greek myths and have been wanting to create something using mythology, and I’d been on a summer camp kick thanks to things like Gravity Falls and Lumberjanes. So I drafted out Champions, in which thirteen kids wake up to find everyone at their summer camp turned to stone, and the gods are asking them to fight. I haven’t developed very much of it, but I may come back to it one day when I need something fun to work on.

Image Credits: [x][x][x][x][x][x][x][x][x][x][x][x][x][x][x]
Author: Jimmy

Librarian/writer/geek

Leave a Reply

